NYC General Election 2017: Here’s How Brooklyn Voted

NYC General Election 2017: Here’s How Brooklyn Voted
Photo: Liena Zagare/BKLYNER

Here are the winning candidates of the 2017 General Election.

Mayor: Bill de Blasio (D, Incumbent) won with 726,361 votes (66.5%) while Republican Nicole Malliotakis received 303,742 votes (27.8%)

Public Advocate: Letitia James (D, Incumbent) won with 775,749 votes (73.9%) while Republican Juan Carlos Polanco received 165,218 votes (15.7%)

Comptroller: Scott Stringer (D, Incumbent) won with 801,287 votes (76.8%) while Republican Michel Faulkner received 203,703 votes (19.5%)

Brooklyn Borough President: Eric Adams (D, Incumbent) won with 265,858 votes (83%) while Republican Vito Bruno received 48,710 votes (15.2%)

Brooklyn District Attorney: Acting Brooklyn District Attorney Eric Gonzalez won with 244,013 votes (89.1%) while Reform Party candidate Vincent Gentile received 29,915 votes (10.9%)

Brooklyn City Council Races

City Council District 33 (Brooklyn Heights, DUMBO, Williamsburg, Greenpoint, Boerum Hill, Vinegar Hill, Downtown Brooklyn, and Bedford–Stuyvesant):

Stephen Levin (D, Incumbent) won with 18,624 votes (88.7%) while Victoria E. Cambranes (Other) received 2,371 votes (11.3%)

City Council District 35 (Bedford-Stuyvesant, Clinton Hill, Crown Heights, Fort Greene, Prospect Heights):

Laurie Cumbo (D, Incumbent) won with 20,251 votes (67.6%) while Green Party candidate Jabari Brisport received 8,619 votes (28.8%) and Republican Christine Parker received 1,103 votes (3.7%)

City Council District 37 (Cypress Hills, Bushwick, City Line, Oceanhill-Brownsville, and East New York):

Rafael Espinal, Jr. (D, Incumbent) won with 10,037 votes (90%) while Green Party candidate Persephone S.J. Smith received 1,111 votes (10%)

City Council District 38 (Red Hook, Sunset Park, Windsor Terrace):

Carlos Menchaca (D, Incumbent) won with 9,604 votes (82.7%) while Conservative Allan E. Romaguera received 809 votes (7%), Green Party candidate Carmen V. Hulbert received 758 votes (6.5%) and Reform Party candidate Delvis Valdes received 447 votes (3.8%)

City Council District 40 (Crown Heights, East Flatbush, Flatbush, Kensington, Midwood, Prospect-Lefferts Gardens, Prospect Park):

After much controversy surrounding incumbent Mathieu Eugene electioneering at multiple polling sites yesterday, the Democratic candidate won his district.

Mathieu Eugene (D, Incumbent) won with 13,840 votes (60.2%) while Reform Party candidate Brian-Christopher A. Cunningham received 8,370 votes (36.4%) and Conservative Brian W. Kelley received 767 votes (3.3%)

City Council District 41 (Bedford-Stuyvesant, Brownsville, Crown Heights, East Flatbush, Ocean Hill):

Alicka Ampry-Samuel, Democrat, won with 16,893 votes (95.7%) while Republican Berneda W. Jackson received 539 votes (3.1%) and Christopher O. Carew (Other) received 212 votes (1.2%)

City Council District 42 (East New York, New Lots, Remsen Village, Spring Creek, Starrett City):

Inez Barron (D, Incumbent) won with 17,600 votes (92.7%) while Conservative Ernest Johnson received 850 votes (4.5%) and Reform Party candidate Mawuli K. Hormeku received 529 votes (2.8%)

City Council District 43 (Bath Beach, Bay Ridge, Bensonhurst, Dyker Heights):

Justin Brannan, Democrat, won this close race to replace outgoing, term-limited Vincent Gentile (D) with 12,516 votes (50.6%) while Republican John Quaglione received 11,621 votes (47%). Reform Party candidate Robert P. Capano received 324 votes (1.3%) and Angel Medina received 273 votes (1.1%)

City Council District 44 (Borough Park, Midwood and Bensonhurst):

Kalman Yeger, Democrat, won with 11,066 votes (67.2%) while Yoni Hikind (Other) received 4,754 votes (28.9%), and Harold Tischler (Other) received 654 votes (4%)

City Council District 45 (Canarsie, East Flatbush, Flatbush, Flatlands, Midwood):

Jumaane Williams (D, Incumbent) won with 20,347 votes (97.1%) while Anthony Beckford (Other) received 613 votes (2.9%)

City Council District 46 (Bergen Beach, Canarsie, Flatlands, Georgetown, Gerritsen Beach, Marine Park, Mill Basin, Mill Island, Sheepshead Bay):

Alan Maisel (D, Incumbent) won with 20,976 (84.4%) while Conservative Jeffery J. Ferretti received 3,878 votes (15.6%)

City Council District 47 (Bensonhurst, Coney Island, Gravesend, Sea Gate):

Mark Treyger (D, Incumbent) won with 9,555 votes (72.6%) while Republican Raimondo Denaro received 3,612 votes (27.4%)

City Council District 48 (Brighton Beach, Manhattan Beach, Sheepshead Bay, Homecrest, Trump Village, Luna Park, Brightwater Towers, Midwood):

Chaim Deutsch (D, Incumbent) won with 10,003 votes (61.6%) while Republican Steven Saperstein received 6,223 votes (38.4%)

3 Ballot Proposals

Proposal 1: Calling A State Constitutional Convention

NO – 2,704,143 votes (83.2%)

Yes – 544,889 (16.8%)

Proposal 2: Cut Public Officers’ Pensions If They Are Committed Of A Certain Type Of Felony

YES – 2,318,077 (72.9%)

No – 863,708 (27.1%)

Proposal 3: Authorizing Use Of Forest Preserve Land For Specified Purposes

YES – 1,617,375 (52%)

No – 1,491,150 (48%)

Check out WNYC for more information on the 2017 General Election results.


Sign in or become a Bklyner member to join the conversation.