You’re Not Just Voting For The Next President On Tuesday — Here’s What You Need To Know

You’re Not Just Voting For The Next President On Tuesday — Here’s What You Need To Know
Photo via Theresa Thompson / flickr

Tuesday, November 8 is New York’s General Elections. Polls will be open from 6am – 9pm.

Before you sweat it out on the couch on in your watering hole on Tuesday night, make sure you exercise your right and head to the voting booth.

Our coverage area has variation depending on where you live. To get detailed information based on your exact address, visit Voter’s Edge New York and enter your address.

Here are the races taking place in our the area.

United States President:
Hillary Clinton/Tim Kaine (Democratic, Working Families, Women’s Equality)
Donald J. Trump / Michael R. Pence (Republican, Conservative)
Jill Stein / Ajamu Baraka (Green)
Gary Johnson / Bill Weld (Independence, Libertarian)

U.S. Senate:
Wendy Long (Republican, Conservative, Reform)
Chuck Schumer (Democrat, Incumbent, Working Families, Women’s Equality, Independence)
Robin Laverne Wilson (Green)
Alex Merced (Libertarian)

U.S. House of Representatives, District 7:
Nydia M. Velazquez (Democratic, Women’s Equality) — Incumbent
Allan E. Romaguera (Republican, Conservative)

U.S. House of Representatives, District 8:
Hakeem S. Jeffries (Democratic, Working Families) — Incumbent
Daniel J. Cavanagh (Conservative)

U.S. House of Representatives, District 9:
Yvette D. Clarke (Democrat, Working Families)
Alan Belone (Conservative)

State Senate, District 26:
Daniel Squadron (Democrat, Working Families)

State Senate, District 21:
Kevin S. Park (Democratic, Working Families)
Brian W. Kelly (Conservative)

New York State Assembly, District 52
Jo Anne Simon (Democratic, Working Families, Women’s Equality)
Daniel Ramos (Republican / Conservative)

State Senate District 25
Velmanette Montgomery (Democratic, Working Families) (incumbent)
Mamie Rose (Republican)
Michael G. Cox (Independent)

State Assembly District 44
Robert C. Carroll, (Working Families, Democratic)
Glenn Nocera (Conservative)

New York Supreme Court Justice, District 2 (Choose 6 of 7)
Mark I. Partnow (Incumbent, Democratic, Conservative)
Leon Ruchelsman (Incumbent, Democratic, Conservative)
Katherine A. Levine, (Democratic, Conservative)
Reginald A. Boddie, (Democratic, Conservative)
ShawnDya L. Simpson, (Democratic, Conservative)
Peter Sweeny (Democratic)
Philip J. Smallman (Conservative)

New York Civil Court Judges, Kings County (Choose 3 of 5)
Dena E. Douglas (Incumbent, Democrat)
Vincent F. Martusciello (Conservative)
John Meringolo (Reform)
Odessa Kennedy (Democrat)
Jacqueline D. Williams (Incumbent, Democrat)

New York Civil Court Judges, 3rd Municipal Court District (uncontested)
Susan Quirk (Democratic)

New York Civil Court Judges, 5th Municipal Court District
Rachel E. Freier (Democratic)
Morton M. Avigdor (Conservative, Independence)

Here’s some other important information that will help you cast your vote:

  • Find out where your polling site is with this locator.
  • There are a number of other races in Brooklyn for judge’s seats. Enter your address here to see a sample ballot. The New York Campaign Finance Board also has a voter guide.
  • Know your rights! You are not required to show photo identification in order to vote. Learn more about your rights as a voter here.

If you have any questions, visit the Board of Elections FAQ page, or contact them directly at 1-866-868-3692.


Sign in or become a Bklyner member to join the conversation.