Election Results For South Brooklyn, 2016

Photo courtesy e.ann.s / Instagram
Photo courtesy e.ann.s / Instagram

Here are the winning candidates in yesterday’s historic election.

Candidate for President / Vice President

Donald J. Trump / Michael R. Pence (Republican)

Across Brooklyn, 595,086 voters (79 percent) chose Hillary Clinton, while 133,653 (18 percent) went with Trump, reports the New York City Board of Elections. Green Party candidate Jill Stein secured 11,165 votes; Independence/Libertarian Party candidate Gary Johnson won 6,391 votes; and there were 4,829 write-in candidates for president across the borough.

U.S. Senate:
Chuck Schumer (Democrat, Incumbent, Working Families, Women’s Equality, Independence)

U.S. House of Representatives:

**We have starred the Congressional districts that include parts of South Brooklyn.

District 7 (North Brooklyn and sections of the Brooklyn waterfront, including Red Hook, Gowanus and Sunset Park) — Nydia Velazquez (Democrat)

**District 8 (sections of Fort Greene, Bedford-Stuyvesant, East New York, Canarsie, Coney Island, Mill Basin and Marine Park) — Hakeem Jeffries (Democrat)

**District 9 (sections of Park Slope, Crown Heights, Prospect Lefferts Gardens, Flatbush, Midwood, Flatlands and Sheepshead Bay) — Yvette D. Clarke (Democrat)

**District 10 (sections of Manhattan, along with parts of Borough Park, Kensington, Red Hook, Sunset Park, Bensonhurst, Dyker Heights and Gravesend) — Jerrold Nadler (Democrat)

**District 11 (southern Brooklyn and sections of Staten Island) — Dan Donovan (Republican)

New York State Senate:

State Senate districts in Brooklyn. District 18 is the northern-most district in the borough, and borders Queens.

The Republicans have retained control of the State Senate, reports WNYC. Confirm your State Senator, and Senate District #, here. Winning South Brooklyn candidates are below.

District 17 — Simcha Felder (Democrat, uncontested)

District 19 — Roxanne Persaud (Democrat, uncontested)

District 22 — Martin Golden (Republican, uncontested)

District 23 — Diane Savino (Democrat, uncontested)

New York State Assembly:

State Assembly districts in Brooklyn. Districts 50, 53 and 54 are the northern-most districts in the borough.

The Democrats have retained control of the State Assembly. Confirm your State Assemblymember, and Assembly District #, here. Winning South Brooklyn candidates are below.

District 41 — Helene Weinstein (Democrat)

District 45 — Steven Cymbrowitz (Democrat)

District 46 — Pamela Harris (Democrat)

District 47 — William Colton (Democrat)

District 48 — Dov Hikind (Democrat, uncontested)

District 49 — Peter Abbate (Democrat)

District 59 — Jaime Williams (Democrat)

District 61 — Matthew Titone (Democrat, uncontested)

New York State Supreme Court Justice, District 2, — six seats were open
Mark I. Partnow (Incumbent, Democratic, Conservative)
Leon Ruchelsman (Incumbent, Democratic, Conservative)
Katherine A. Levine, (Democratic, Conservative)
Reginald A. Boddie, (Democratic, Conservative)
ShawnDya L. Simpson, (Democratic, Conservative)
Peter Sweeny (Democratic)

New York City Civil Court Judge, Kings County — three seats were open
Dena E. Douglas (Incumbent, Democrat)
Odessa Kennedy (Democrat)
Jacqueline D. Williams (Incumbent, Democrat)

New York City Civil Court Judge, 5th Municipal Court District
Covering parts of South Brooklyn
Rachel Freier (Democrat)

share this story


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *