Frontus Assembles Transition Team

Frontus Assembles Transition Team
Assemblymember Mathylde Frontus Photo credit: Mathylde Frontus

CONEY ISLAND – Newly-elected Assemblywoman Mathylde Frontus announced her transition team and possible future think tank members on Tuesday along with a new chief of staff.

The 33-person transition team includes residents from all corners of the district, including Bay Ridge, Brighton Beach, Coney Island, Dyker Heights and Seagate. Some steadfast supporters throughout her campaign made the transition team which will likely evolve into the Southern Brooklyn think tank the assemblywoman touted throughout her campaign.

The group will collaborate on issues impacting the community like housing, transportation, education and immigration. Members had their first meeting Sunday, November 18 at the Coney Island YMCA.

“The breadth and depth of their collective experience is immensely useful and will help my team and I broaden our thinking as we take our next steps,” said Frontus.

The assemblywoman named Bay Ridge resident Michael DeCillis as her chief of staff. DeCillis is an attorney and community advocate who ran a congressional bid earlier this year in Southern Brooklyn. Since then, Decillis has actively campaigned for the assemblywoman.

“I’ve always been amazed at Assemblymember Frontus’ ability to engage the community, and have them become active participants to help address the issues we face,” said DeCillis. “I look forward to helping her provide truly accountable, responsive representation to the 46th AD.”

Kate Cucco, who ran for the 46th assembly seat in 2016 was named Vice President of the transition team.

In all its diversity, the team does not include any Republicans or Conservatives, however. According to New York State’s Board of Elections, 16,315 registered Republicans live in the 46th assembly district, making up 21 percent of the voter block.

When asked about the lack of Republican representation, DeCillis said, the administration is “talking with everyone in the coming weeks.”

Below is the transition team list:

1. Gregorio Mayers, Esq., G&M Consulting; Chair, Transition Team
2. Jonathan Shabshaikhes, Vice-Chair, Transition Team
3. Edu Hermelyn, Hermelyn Group; Vice-Chair, Transition Team
4. Kate Cucco, Vice President, 68th Precinct Community Council; Vice-Chair, Transition Team
5. A. Michael DeCillis, Esq., Incoming Chief of Staff, Assemblymember Frontus
6. Ramon Guadelupe, Community Activist (Coney Island)
7. Victoria Lynch, President, Tenant Association, Site 8, NYCHA
8. Betty Mayo, Vice President, Tenant Association, Site 8, NYCHA
9. Elizabeth Wilson-Anstey, Ed.D Education Advocate (Sea Gate)
10. Marion Kennedy, People for Political & Economic Empowerment
11. Fernando Matthews, People for Political & Economic Empowerment
12. Susan Grundberg, MSW Co-Chair, Coordinated Children’s Services Initiative
(CCSI) Citywide Oversight Committee; Advisory Board, Adoptive & Foster Family Coalition of NY
13. Jennifer Gaboury, Lecturer, Hunter College (CUNY)
14. Yvonne Mayo Seaberry, Homeowners’ Association
15. Olga Fort, Esq., Community Activist (Brighton Beach)
16. Murad Awawdeh, Vice President of Advocacy, NY Immigration Coalition
17. Abduallah Younes, Board Member, Yalla Brooklyn
18. Mario Caggiano, Educator, Community Activist (Dyker Heights)
19. Sue Horowitz, Community Advocate, Educator (Bay Ridge)
20. Gary Schlesinger, CEO, ParCare Community Health Network
21. Boris Noble, Community Activist (Brighton Beach)
22. Kenneth Chu, Co-Founder & VP, Asian American Communities Empowerment (BRACE); VP, Coalition of Asian Americans for Civil Rights (CAACR); Founder & President, New York City Asian American Democratic Club (NYCADC)
23. David Farley, Ph.D., Professor, St. John’s University
24. Louise Hilland, Community Activist (Bay Ridge)
25. Alex Pellitteri, Yalla Brooklyn
26. Bella Gubenko, Association of East European Jewry
27. Josh Mehlman, Flatbush Jewish Community Coalition
28. Soya Stewart, Community Activist (Coney Island)
29. Michael Quinn, Owner, Feltman’s Coney Island; Chair, Transportation Committee, Brooklyn Community Board #13
30. Marcos Masri, Community & Government Relations, Axle PR
31. John Abi-Habib, Honorable Consul of Lebanon
32. Pastor Stephen Trainer, Graffiti Ministries Church
33. Bishop Hobbs, Coney Island Cathedral


Sign in or become a Bklyner member to join the conversation.