Southern Brooklyn

My House, New Burger Joint, Opens On Sheepshead Bay Road



A new burger joint named My House is now serving up hot ground beef patties at 1650 Sheepshead Bay Road.

Signage for the store went up last week, and they opened the doors to the public this week. The owner, a partner in Yooberry Frozen Yogurt at 1501 Sheepshead Bay Road, said they’re still fixing up the storefront but were eager to get food in the hands of a hungry clientele.

“It’s almost done. We have to do a few more touch-ups, but because of the weather everyone has rescheduled. But right now it’s open to the public,” the owner said.

The storefront was most recently occupied by Ichiko Sushi, which opened in 2010 and never reopened after Superstorm Sandy. It’s also the first time in nearly two decades that the location will not be a sushi joint, having been home to the strip’s first sushi restaurant, Sakura, for many years.

Comment policy


  1. I like the idea of a burger place on the block. However I dont understand this business person. They are already investing in the business why not change the storefront and the sign background. Nyc is home to many great designers who make great storefronts and interiors yet most sheepshead places never bother to invest in one.

  2. Glad to see something besides a Sushi place or cell phone store. Gonna be tough to contend with Wheelers burgers. Good luck guys!!!!

  3. I remember when the location was a pet store! Birds of all kinds in the front and saltwater fish and reptiles in the rear.

  4. I’m always up for trying a new burger place, but it’s interesting that the place already has a yelp page with five 5 star reviews from reviewers who, I can assume, are somehow involved with the restaurant.

  5. Wheelers has nothing to fear. Stopped in to check it out. Nice clean place. Nice decor. Big picture of a hand formed juicy burger started to make my mouth water. So I go to the counter and check the menu board. Strike 1… No bacon. So I order a single cheeseburger with fries. Strike 2…. it appears average wait time from order to food on the table is roughly 15 minutes. Strike 3….the burger looked nothing like the picture on the wall. Very misleading. I know from my years in the food industry that when I wanted pictures for my walls or menus, I personally prepared my food for photo sessions. Why would you put a picture of someone else’s food on your walls? Anyway, 15 minutes after ordering, the food arrives. I pluck off the lettuce, tomato, and onion to reveal a burger that is smaller than the bun, and appears to look dried out. Eating the burger indeed proved that it was on the dry side. The fries were standard fare. IMHO, just for comparison, 5 Guys blows this place away, Wendy’s Baconator….HELL YEAH!! And Wheelers…..Fugedabboutit!!!!! I’ll definitely walk the extra block to grab a burger at Wheelers.

  6. I had a burger here and it was amazing. the menu looked interesting so i had to try one. I did not see anything negative about this place sorry maybe thats just you or you got unlucky. Usually burgers are too greasy and you can taste the BS in them, but these burgers were the bomb very fresh and delicious. I did not feel guilty about eating one of these haha :). Overall i give it 5 stars due to the fact that its new and yet it doesnt taste like fast food or a gross grease ball. This is something “you should try it for yourself”.

  7. Bull shit. This is either the owner or a family member of the owner. The burger was unremarkable and expensive (over 2 bucks for a can of soda). My experience is the same as animos and their burger photos I recognized from dairy Queen.

  8. Wife brought home a few burgers from this place. They were already cold by the time i ate them but you know it wasn’t that bad at all. They weren’t huge but I think the price was right. I will definitely try this place out again.

    We need a burger place around here and hopefully this place fills the void. Top burger was such overpriced garbage.

    By the way everyone wants a really good Taco spot.

  9. Reading the comments makes me think I am watching a bad episode of “Bob’s Burgers” on channel 5. All that is missing is the mopey daughter who wears a rabbit ears hat. (But after all, it’s just a badly done cartoon).

  10. Thank you so much for your review.
    Unfortunately, we aren’t exactly done with the storefront just yet.
    We are currently working on it, hopefully it does get better in time.

  11. I would look forward to seeing you in the restaurant. We have 5 star Yelp reviews and we also have some 1 star Yelp reviews. Try us out and maybe the next Yelp review might be from you.

  12. Thank you so much for your visit to My House.

    We are a simple, little, local burger shop. We don’t make the best burgers. We don’t make the biggest burgers. We also don’t have bacon. BUT we use high quality hamburger patty made entirely of grounded beef and seasoning. This distinguishes them from inexpensive burgers made with added flour, textured vegetable protein, and ammonia treated defatted beef trimmings and along with that, we are also in the low priced category. Therefore, our burgers start at $3.95. This single burger comes with freshly cut lettuce, tomato, onions, full slicked pickles, quarter pound beef, with a 4 inch bun.

    Unfortunately, during a busy time, it takes longer to get some burgers to customers in a matter of minutes, but we are new and we are working on it. Due to our burgers being prepared fresh, we don’t use reheated patties, takes longer to cook.

    And if quarter pound is not enough, then you can try our double double burger. This burger comes with half a pound patty.

    Regarding our decor, thank you for the compliment. We are currently working on it, hopefully, in time, it does get better!
    We’re looking forward to seeing you again.

  13. Thank you. I’m glad you enjoyed your burger. We hope to see you again.
    You should try one at My House next time.

  14. Thank you, all for taking the time to write a review and leave comments. As I mentioned, we are a simple burger shop on Sheepshead Bay Road.
    We are not trying to be labeled as the best burger shop in Brooklyn or the cheapest burger shop.
    But, I can assure everyone we use the highest quality ingredients including beef, veggies, and spices.
    We don’t buy pre-made frozen patties filled with chemicals or artificial flavoring.

  15. Glad I tried the place before reading the comments. I don’t see why some of the feedback is so negative. My experience was overall pleasant. The atmosphere is nice and the staff is friendly. The burger was pretty good, and it was just the right size. It tasted fresh and juicy. The garlic fries were also a good choice. I would definitely come back again.

  16. I didn’t say the burger tasted bad, I just said that it was dry and appeared small sitting on the bun. As far as the time frame for being served, let’s just say that there was a family of 4 sitting and waiting for their food when I walked in. That’s how busy you were. A gentleman walked in while I was waiting and ordered take out. Like I said, 15 minutes for me to be served and I also noticed 15 minutes for the take out order.

Comments are closed.